Meeting Minutes / Newsletters > Annual Membership Meeting Minutes 03/08/2012
Annual Membership Meeting Minutes 03/08/2012

Mar 12, 2012

Oregon Fire Apparatus & Equipment Mechanics Association
Annual Membership Meeting
March 8, 2012
Phoenix Inn, North
Salem, OR

Mike Thorn gave the invocation before the banquet.

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order at 6:57 pm by Vice-President David Clark.
David had the vendors, students and members give a self introduction.

MINUTES: A motion was made and seconded to approve the previous minutes. Passed

DIRECTORS REPORT: Kerry reported that we currently have 155 active members. This is down from the 170 we had last year. He also reported that we have 94 students registered for classes this year. Mike Thorn from the EVT Certification Commission reported to me that we have 56 students scheduled to take 105 exams. This is the most that we have ever had.
With the declining economy, we have implemented some money saving innovations to help reduce our expenses. At this point, we do not foresee losing any money this years, as we have in the past couple of years.

SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE: Quirt Lancaster, the committee chairman, was not able to come to the school this year so he asked Kerry to report on their activity. They awarded Brandon McGarr of the Dundee Fire Department, the H&W Tuition Scholarship. We would like to express our sincere gratitude to H&W for their continued support of this organization. Quirt also reported that no qualified applications were received for the Gerald Nordlund Scholarship this year.

EDUCATION COMMITTEE: Rick reported that we have 14 classes this year.

VENDORS COMMITTEE: Dave reported that we had 15 vendors for the show this afternoon.


NEW BUSINESS: Dave reported on the passing of George Eisert, our current President, to cancer recently. His memorial service is scheduled for 11:00 on March 16, at the New Hope Church in Happy Valley Oregon. David showed the 'Life Membership' certificate that the board awarded to George Eisert in recognition for his outstanding dedication to this association as well as the fire service.
Election: With the passing of the President, all officers automatically move up in position. A motion was made and seconded to re-elect all officers to their new position. The floor was opened for nominations. Hearing none, the motion was voted on and passed.
Neil Senger reported that the nomination committee recommended Richard Copenhaver of Illinois Valley Fire Dist., for the vacant 3 Year Director position. A motion was made and seconded to accept the nomination committee recommendation. The floor was opened for nominations. Hearing none, the motion was voted on and passed.

President: David Clark
Vice President: Dave Crawford
2nd Vice President: Tom Ward
1 Year Director: Richard Fletcher
2 Year Director: Tony Miller
3 Year Director: Richard Copenhaver
Past President: Art Blaisdell
2nd Past President: Quirt Lancaster
Executive Director: Kerry Bohanan

FOR THE GOOD OF THE ORDER: The 2012 Northwest Fire & Rescue Expo is scheduled for May 18 & 19 at the Portland Expo Center.
Danny Grove gave a request that the association look into hosting satellite classes in other areas of the state.

Meeting adjourned at 7:37 pm.

An auction of one of the door prizes and a subsequent passing of a collection jar, raised $661 for Nadene Eisert, to help offset some of the medical expenses not covered by insurance.

Next Meeting:    To Be Announced Site Meter